5 Sporting Events to Look Forward to in 2010

I love sport. You may have picked up on that already. As you may or may not be aware of, 2010 is a massive year for sport. So I shall be taking a close look at the sporting calendar and picking the five dates I am anticipated the most about. I should say a big thank you to Jon from The Feeder Series, which had a similar post and inspired me to do something similar, with a little bit of tweaking. So, in a logical order, let us begin.

Sunday 31st January : Africa Cup of Nations Final

I have been getting rather excited by this competition. We are only a few days into the competition in Angola, but we are seeing surprise after surprise so far. Africa’s biggest nations against each other, brilliant football being played, with the two best nations going to the final. It is going to be a brilliant final.

Of course, the tournament has been sadly marred with the Togo shootings in the north of Angola. Three people were killed. The tragic incident has indeed put the football seemingly to one side, but I want to think the football should now do the talking.

With the tournament already underway, I have found the perfect opportunity to say this doesn’t involve the best African teams. I am not too sure why Mozambique and Benin managed to get in. Never mind how they are in the same group.

Final prediction: Egypt vs Ivory Coast

Friday 12th February – Sunday 28th February : Winter Olympics

AUDI FIS World Cup - Women's Slalom

I am certainly going to make more of an effort to watch the Winter Olypmics this year. 2010 will see the games held in Vancouver, which will most likely mean I will need to require watching the highlights program on iPlayer, quite a lot. That is a shame. It should be an enjoyable Olympics.

I am going to be cheering on Kwame Nkrumah-Acheampong, a plucky Ghanaian alpine skier. The ‘Snow Leopard’ will be the first person from Ghana to compete in the Winter Games, and from research, has a very distinctive outfit, a leopard skin.

Great Britain are not the best nation. Unsurprising really from a nation with hardly any ski slopes or decent training facilities for these athletes. In 2006, Shelley Rudman secured Britain’s only medal, a silver in the Women’s Skeleton (that is the one where they go down on a little tray while they somehow manage to stay on it). Our last gold came back in 2002, the Salt Lake City games being witness to a fine curling game between the all-Scottish team and Switzerland. Led by Rhona Martin, the British won it with the last throw of the dice. Or, whatever the term is called in curling.

Top Medalists prediction: Canada

Friday 11th June – Sunday 11th July : FIFA World Cup

Like I was going to miss this one out. The World Cup, the pinnacle of football. 31 of the greatest international teams on the planet (and New Zealand) compete against each other. Second major football tournament to be held in Africa, this time South Africa becomes the first African nation to host the World Cup.

I can’t wait. There are going to be some awesome games, especially in the group stages. Who can not find Brazil vs Portugal and England vs USA mouth watering?

Granted, England got lucky in the group. But it might not be easy of course after that, if push comes to shove, a route of games against the likes of Germany, France or Argentina. Brilliant.

This short space can not show how excited I am about this. Do expect me to go a bit crazy on the World Cup nearer the time on this blog.

Winners prediction: Netherlands (Got to be their year)

Saturday 12th June – Sunday 13th June : 24 Hours of Le Mans

Le Mans 24h Race

I am not a sportscar fan. I won’t lie to you about that. I do try to get into it, but inevitably I end up getting bored about the idea of something lasting 24 hours. I just simply do not have the patience to watch it.

This year, I haven’t totally decided. I will once again give it a go. Of course, I won’t manage to watch the whole 24 hours of it, I do require sleep to keep me going. The second problem is that the race also happens to go on during the World Cup. More notably, England v USA.

I’ll give it a go I think. Have it on in the background, the entire concept of the 2010 24 Hours of Le Mans could be exciting still. Will Audi get back at Peugeot. Will Franck Montagny manage to win it? Can Rob Bell shock the world and win it? (Fine, the last one might have been a bit biased). For sure, I will check out the results.

Winner prediction: Peugoet

Friday 1st October – Sunday 3rd October : Ryder Cup

WGC - HSBC Champions - Round two

Colin Montgomerie. Big pressure for you. Get the Ryder Cup back of the Americans. They got lucky last time, now its Europe’s time to shine, again.

Quite frankly, I’ll be amazed if we don’t win it at Celtic Manor in Newport. Everything for America seems to be going to pot. Well, Tiger Woods has, but that news story has managed to find every needle in a haystack. Europe are looking promising as well, the rise of talented golfer Rory McIlroy, the impressive form of Paul Casey and Lee Westwood. If I could, I’d play the Americans now.

Best Golfer prediction: Padraig Harrington

So that is my five that I’m looking forward to in this new decade. If you have any other events you are looking forward to in 2010. Please do share in the comments.

Posted on January 13, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great picks! I’m looking forward to four of these. Le Mans is in a transition year so I’m not sure if it’ll be good or not, the World Cup should be fun even for a non-fan like me (*especially* USA vs England), and the Ryder Cup and Winter Olympics are a good bit of sporting action. I like the bobsleds.

    • Yeah, I think I picked well 🙂 Le Mans was indeed a filler entry as I struggled to think.

      Glad you are gonna watch the World cup as well.

  2. I AM PERSONALLY OFFENDED BY YOUR RIDICULE OF MY NATION. Or not. We’re soooo gonna get beaten. Badly.

  3. I am looking forward to watching some snowboarding.

    • Should be fun that. I personally really am looking forward to the sking. Looks easy but in reality is nigh on impossible. Or, for me at least. But watching the pros is really impressive. Same with snowboarding as well really.

Leave a Reply

